毕业后我做了什么(以及我是如何自己选择的)

Featured image for “What I Did After Graduation (and How I Picked Myself)”

毕业时,我有几件事想做。我想被皮克斯录用。我想赢得奖项。我想被录用为导演。我想制作电影

我想要的很多东西都需要别人的允许。这个月有成千上万的人要毕业了,我想和大家分享一下我的毕业故事,以及我是如何自己选择而不是等待别人这么做。

这是我第一次在这个博客里谈论这些事情,我这样做是因为我认为对于艺术家和刚毕业的学生(并不仅限于他们)来说,这些都很重要。请把它读完,你不会后悔的。

3年前

2013年,我从纽约视觉艺术学院(SVA)计算机艺术专业毕业。在这最后一年里,我的主要精力是磨练自己的三维动画技能,这样我在毕业时能找到尽可能多的工作,甚至希望能被其中一家著名工作室录用。

我制作了一部集中体现了我优势的短片。作为一名动画师,我并不擅长三维制作流程中的大部分技术角色(建模、装置安装、纹理设置、布光、渲染等),所以我制作了一部关于两条大头鱼的影片。

这样做的原因之一是我可以坚持在一个环境(一个巨大的水族馆,里面只包括抽象的物体),另一个原因是我可以专注于我的人物的表情和情绪。有了这么大的头,又没有腿、手指或重力,我可以给自己最好的机会让我的角色有好的表现,最后得到一个以对话为重点的作品

没有皮克斯

后来我发现皮克斯要来我们学校招聘。他们当年的实习项目会以动画制作为主,这是一个让我惊喜的消息,因为那是我的主攻方向。而且,我们班上喜欢动画制作的人不多,所以竞争也不是很激烈。

在彻底完善了我的演示卷轴后,我申请了那份实习,几周后我得到了消息:我被选中(与我们班的另外两名学生一起)参加与皮克斯动画师的1对1面试,他将会访问我们学校。这将是我最接近在皮克斯工作的机会。

面试还算顺利,但几个星期后,我发现我没有得到这个实习机会。

那是我职业生涯中第一次意识到依赖别人的认可是什么感觉。那种无法控制的感觉。不管我多想为皮克斯工作,如果他们不同意让我去,我就无法改变。

没有获奖

我的短片很好。我觉得它是我们班最优秀的作品之一。当然,我是完全客观的。然后到了宣布哪些影片获得特别成就奖的日子。这些奖项是根据参加SVA影院正式上映的业内人士的评价和打分,给十几个学生颁发的。虽然这些是我们学校内部的奖项,但对学生来说却相当重要。

如果你还没有猜到,我没有获得其中任何一个奖项。

这可能比皮克斯的拒绝更难。皮克斯,是一家非常受欢迎的工作室,是一回事。但我自己的学校?我讨厌自己这么肤浅,对奖项赋予这么大的意义,但我确实那么做了。

(PS:后来我爸妈给我发了一张他们给我做的奖状作为补偿。我觉得这并不好笑。)

然而,我又一次发现自己陷入了别人的认可或允许才能决定的境地。我开始讨厌这种感觉。

一个视频

在毕业前,我做了一件奇怪的事情,我甚至都不记得我到底为什么决定这么做,就是做了一个视频,讲解我如何制作那部学生影片。我当时只是想让我的朋友和家人了解我是做什么的,因为他们都以为我是平面设计师。

我找了一个有摄像机的朋友,录制了一段视频,介绍了制作动画短片的不同步骤。那段视频在一夜之间得到了超过3000次浏览。

这比当时短片本身的浏览量要多得多。我觉得这很有趣,但我没有留恋太久。我还有一些工作邀请要去参加。

开始我的职业生涯

虽然皮克斯没有选择我,但我还是一个相当不错的申请者。我的样片很优秀,我那部没有获奖的影片也还是挺酷的。我在纽约最好的一些工作室得到了很好的实习机会。我很享受在商业动画行业工作的时光,但我仍然记得那种没有被选中的感受。

我知道这一切随时可能发生。虽然我刚毕业就得到了很多工作,但我还是受制片人摆布。有时几周我都没有工作,有时几周我忙得不可开交。我无法掌控自己的日常计划,所以我一直在等待。

等待

等待是最难的部分。

发送简历和等待。给Portfolio Night的联系人发邮件并等待。填写在线申请并等待。

对此我无能为力,决定权在他们手上。

我想要的东西

我回头看了看我以前想要的东西。在那些事情中,我努力思考哪一件是我现在就能做到的,也不需要别人的许可。

我不能强迫皮克斯雇用我。

我不能让任何人给我颁奖。

从学校毕业不到一年,我没能被聘为导演。

制作更多的影片?我可以这样做。我可以再制作一部短片。

再制作一部短片

所以我有了一个任务!制作我的第二部短片。我真的很忙,在工作室工作,作为上班族度过了第一年,但我内心知道,如果我想摆脱审批周期,我必须做我自己的事情。我必须做一些能给我控制权的事情。

但这次我会用不同的方式来做。我回想了一下我第一部影片之后做的那个制作视频,以及它是如何获得很多关注的。我意识到人们喜欢幕后的东西,也许我可以用它来让更多人对我的下一部影片感兴趣。

我决定录制那部短片的所有制作过程。我全身心地投入其中。我把每一步和我所学到的一切都贴了出来。当分镜脚本完成后,我把它放上去让大家下载。不仅看我是怎么做的——而且可以下载文件。我不想保密。我把所有的东西都呈现了出来。

我为什么要做这些事?会不会有人偷走我的构思?拿着我的分镜脚本自己去制作影片?里面甚至连装置也有(我也免费拿出来了)。为什么有人会在已经知道故事后还会再看一部影片?想想你自己。如果你已经关注一个项目很长时间了,你难道不想看最后的结果吗?难道你不会比其他同时随机出炉的动画短片更好奇它是怎么出来的吗?而关于抄袭,我个人不相信"构思",而相信"执行"。如果有人想尝试重做我在做的事,那就去做吧。这个过程漫长且令人不快。

我把所有的内容都收集在我创建的一个网站下面。那就是布卢普动画。

Making an Animated Short (FREE ebook)

A free ebook covering the process of making an animated short film from start to finish.

形象
这并不容易。我没有可以帮我建模的同学。我没有学校的渲染农场来处理高强度的布光和渲染。我只能靠自己,用2010版iMac来完成。

我列出了我的局限性,并试图在这种约束下工作,就像我在第一部影片中做的那样,只是这次我受到的局限性更大。我试着弄清楚我可以做的最简单的事情是什么,但仍然能制作一部好影片。

正如我所说,我没有建模的能力。我没办法制作复杂甚至是基本角色。

玛雅,就像任何其他3D程序一样,有所谓的 "原始形状",人们可以从这些形状开始建模。立方体、球体、平面、环形体等等。我想--如果我把Maya的两个最基本的形状,一个立方体和一个球体,作为我的主要角色,会怎么样?

球和立方体

我知道你在想什么。只有一个立方体和一个球吗?答案是......是的。

随着我不断地制作我的电影,我不断地分享。我之所以分享这么多我的工作方法,是因为我相信(现在也是如此),你越是让人们参与到你的过程中,你就越能让他们关心完成的作品,即这部影片。

我很高兴。我有一个秘密计划。一件我作为副业的"事情"。我白天在工作室工作,然后在晚上和周末写文章/录制教程。我有了目标,我不再关心被选中的事。我已经选择了自己。

2014年夏天,我的关于一个立方体和一个球的短片《LIFT UP》发布了。

写一本书

到《LIFT UP》上映时,我的博客和YouTube频道已经积累了不少内容。虽然我最初创建这个网站是为了谈论我的电影,但我意识到它已经建立了一个相当大的观众群,许多读者也对成为动画师感兴趣,而他们中的很多人对从哪里开始做起并不了解。

当看到我网站上的所有书面内容,以及喜欢这些内容的人,我问自己为什么不为这些人写一本书?为初学者?

你到底是谁,怎么会写书?

这是我想到的第一个问题(相信对于其他听说过这个想法的人来说也是如此)。我才毕业不到一年,就要写一本关于动画制作的书?谁会让我去做这件事呢?

嗯,这就是不需要许可的好处。选择自己,还记得吗?

虽然我不是动画专家,但我确实比那些只想着进入动画行业的更了解进入动画行业,了解成为动画师的道路,或者了解电影制作。试图选择学校的高中生,或者想换个职业的人。一个完全是动画初学者的人。

所以我写了《初学者的动画》。这本书教给你进入动画世界所需要知道的一切。我没有一个出版商。我在自己的网站上出版了它。

那本书已经卖出了数千册,并在一段时间内成为亚马逊动画下的畅销书第一名。如果我等着别人给我写书的许可,比如说使用出版商,我就不可能得到出书的机会。

今天

自从那段视频之后,Bloop动画已经变成了一项实际的业务,使我能够全职从事自己的项目。我目前正在制作我的第三部电影,领导一个由来自世界各地的15名艺术家组成的团队。我们又发行了一本书。 皮克斯讲故事我们还发布了另一本书,这本书也成为亚马逊的畅销书第一名,而且我们几乎为所有的动画软件提供了动画课程

我不再等别人来选择我,也不要求别人来这么做。我努力为自己创造自由,尽管这完全不是我想象中毕业后的样子,但我很高兴它是。

毕业

当你这个月毕业的时候,你可能会觉得自己掌握不了自己的命运。就像你只是在等待电子邮件来临,等待有人选择你。永远记住,总是有些事情你可以做。我并不建议每个人都应该开通一个YouTube频道和写书,我的意思是,你可以做一些独特、有创意的事情来让自己脱颖而出。

你是建模师?展示你如何为一个角色建模的逐步视频。分享你的过程,以及你如何解决某些问题。从中做一个案例分析。当你分享你是怎么做的时候,人们会认为你知道你在做什么。你可以对每种类型的工作都这样做。对视频不习惯?那就写下来。开一个博客,一个Tumblr,一个脸书群。继续制作东西并分享它们,直到有人雇用你,然后当他们真的雇用你时,继续制作东西。

即使你正在等待被选中,就像你们很多人会这么做,也要想办法自己选择自己。

What I Did After Graduation (and How I Picked Myself)

Upon graduation there were a few things I wanted: I wanted to be hired by Pixar. I wanted to win awards. I wanted to get hired as a director. I wanted to make movies.

I wanted a lot of things that required other people’s permission. With thousands of you graduating this month, I wanted to share my graduation story, and how I had to pick myself instead of waiting for others to do so.

This is the first time I’m talking about these things in this blog, and I’m doing so because I think it’s important for artists and recent grads (though not exclusively) to hear this. Please read it through till the end, you won’t be sorry.

3 years ago

I graduated in 2013 from the School of Visual arts as a Computer Arts major. My main focus during that last year was to hone my 3D animation skills so that I can get as much work as possible when I graduate, and hopefully even get hired by one of the more famous studios.

I created a short film that focused on my strengths. As an animator, I wasn’t good at most of the technical roles of the 3D pipeline (modeling, rigging, texturing, lighting, rendering etc…), so I created a film about 2 fish with huge heads.

One reason for doing so was that I could stick to 1 environment (a huge aquarium, that only included abstract objects in it) and another reason was that I could focus on the expressions and emotions of my characters. With such large heads, and no legs, fingers or gravity, I could give myself the best chance at getting good performance out of my characters and ended up with a dialogue-focused piece.

No Pixar

I then found out Pixar was coming to our school for a recruiting trip. Their internship program for that year was going to focus on animation, which was amazing news for me since that was my main focus. Also, not many people were into animation in my class so competition was sparse.

I applied for that internship after thoroughly refining my demo reel, and after a few weeks I got the news: I was chosen (along with 2 other students from my class) for a 1-on-1 interview with a Pixar animator who will be visiting our school. That would be as close as I ever got to working at Pixar.

The interview went pretty well, but a few weeks later I found out that I did not get the internship.

That was the first time in my professional life that I realized what’s it like depending on other people’s approval. The feeling of no control. No matter how much I wanted to work for Pixar, if they didn’t agree to have me I couldn’t change it.

No awards

My short film was good. I thought it was was one of the stronger pieces in our class. Being totally objective, of course. Then came the day of announcing which films received the Special Achievement awards. These awards are given to about a dozen students based on reviews and scores from industry professionals who attended the official screening at the SVA theater. While these awards are internal to our school, they are quite significant to the students.

In case you haven’t guessed, I did not receive one of those awards.

That was probably even harder than the Pixar rejection. Pixar, a hugely popular studio, is one thing. But my own school? I hated being so shallow as to give so much significance to awards, but I did.

(P.S – my parents later gave me an award they made for me to make up for it. I did not find it amusing.)

Yet again, I have found myself in a place where other peoples’ approval or permission dictated something in my life. I started to hate that feeling.

One video

One weird thing I did before graduation, and I swear I don’t even remember why exactly I decided to do it, is make a video about how I made that student film. I think I just wanted my friends and family to understand what I do, because they all thought I was a graphic designer.

I got a friend with a video camera and recorded a video going over the different steps of making an animated short film. That video got over 3,000 views over night.

That was way more views than the short film itself got at that time. I thought it was interesting, but I didn’t linger much on it. I had some job offers to go over.

Starting my professional career

While Pixar didn’t go for me, I was still a pretty good applicant. My demo-reel was strong and my award-less film was still pretty cool. I got great internships in some of the best studios in NYC. I enjoyed my time working in the commercial animation industry, but I still remembered that feeling I had of not getting picked.

I knew this could happen at any moment. While I was getting a lot of work for a recent grad, I was still at the mercy of the producers. Some weeks I had no work at all, some weeks I was swamped. I had no control of my day-to-day, and I was constantly waiting.


The waiting was the hard part.

Sending resumes, and waiting. Emailing contacts from portfolio-night, and waiting. Filling online applications, and waiting.

There was nothing I could do, they had all the power.

The things I wanted

I looked back at the things I used to want. Out of all those things, I was trying to think which one I can do right now without needing permission from someone else.

I couldn’t force Pixar to hire me.

I couldn’t make anyone give me awards.

I couldn’t get hired as a director, less than a year out of school.

Making more movies? I could do that. I could make another short film.

Making another short film

So I had a mission! Make my second short film. I was really busy, working at studios and navigating my first year as a working professional, but something in me knew that if I wanted to get out of the approval-cycle I had to do my own thing. I had to do something that will give me some control.

But this time I will do things differently. I thought back at that one making-of video I did after my first film, and how it got a lot of attention. I realized people love behind-the-scenes stuff, and that maybe I can use it to get more people interested in my next film.

I decided to document all the process of making that short. I went all in on that. I posted every step and everything I’ve learned. When the storyboard was done I put it up for anyone to download. Not just see how I did it – actually download the file. I wanted no secrecy. I gave it all.

Why did I do all of this? Wouldn’t someone be able to steal my idea? Take my storyboard and make the film themselves? They even had the rigs (I gave them away as well). Why would someone watch a film after they already know the story? Well think about yourself. If you’ve been following a project for a long time, wouldn’t you want to see the final result? Wouldn’t you be much more curious about how it came out than any other animated short that randomly came out at the same time? And regarding copying, I personally don’t believe in “ideas”, but in “execution”. If someone wants to try to redo what I’m doing, go for it. It’ll be a long and unpleasant journey.

I collected all of that content under a website I created. It was Bloop Animation.

Working within my limitations. Again

It wasn’t easy. I didn’t have classmates who can help me with modeling. I didn’t have the school’s render farm to process intense lighting and rendering. I was doing it all by myself, with my 2010-iMac.

I made a list of my limitations, and tried to work within them, similarly to what I did with the first film, only this time I was even more limited. I was trying to figure out what is the most simple thing I can do, that would still make for a good film.

Like I said, I had no modeling skills. No way I could create complex or even basic characters.

Maya, just like any other 3D program, has what’s called “primitive shapes” from which one can start modeling. Cubes, spheres, planes, torus etc. I thought – What if I took the 2 most basic shapes Maya has, a cube and a sphere, and have them as my main characters?

Ball and cube

I know what you’re thinking. Only a cube and a ball?? The answer is… Yes.

As I kept working on my film, I kept sharing. My reason for sharing so much of how I did things is that I believed (and still do) that the more you included people in your process the more you make them care about the finished product. About the film.

I was happy. I had a secret plan. A “thing” I was doing on the side. I was working all day at a studio, then writing articles/recording tutorials at nights and weekends. I had a purpose, and I stopped caring about getting picked. I already chose myself.

In the summer of 2014, my short film about a cube and a ball, LIFT UP, was released.

Writing a book

By the time LIFT UP was released I have accumulated quite a bit of content on my blog and YouTube channel. Although I initially created the website as a place to talk about my film, I realized it has built a rather large audience, and many of the readers were interested in becoming animators as well, and a lot of them didn’t know the first thing about where to get started.

When looking at all the written content I had on my site, and the people enjoying it, I asked myself Why not write a book for those people? For beginners?

Who the hell are you to write a book?

That was the first question that came to me (as well as for others who’ve heard about this idea, I’m sure). I was less than a year out of school and I was going to write a book about animation? Who’s going to let me do that?

Well, that’s the cool thing about not needing permission anymore. Choosing myself, remember?

While I wasn’t an animation expert, I did know more about getting into the animation industry, about the path of becoming an animator, or about filmmaking, than someone who’s only thinking about getting into animation. High school students trying to pick a school, or someone looking for a change in careers. Someone who’s a total beginner to animation.

So I wrote Animation For Beginners. A book that teaches everything you need to know about getting into the world of animation. I didn’t have a publisher. I published it on my own site.

That book has sold thousands of copies and was an Amazon #1 best-seller under animation for a while. If I had waited for someone else to give me permission to write a book, like using a publisher, there’s no way I would have gotten a book deal.


Since that one video, Bloop Animation has turned into an actual business, allowing me to work on my own projects full-time. I’m currently working on my third film, leading a team of 15 artists from around the world. We’ve released another book, Pixar Storytelling which also become a #1 Amazon best-seller, and we have an animation course for almost every animation software.

I no longer wait for others to pick me, nor do I ask them to. I worked hard to create freedom for myself, and even though this is not at all what I imagined would happen after graduation, I’m happy it did.


When you graduate this month you might feel like you’re no longer in control of your own destiny. Like you’re just waiting for the email to ring, for someone to choose you. Always remember that there is something you can do. I’m not suggesting that everyone should start a YouTube channel and write books, but I am saying that there is something unique and creative that you can do to push yourself forward.

Are you a modeler? Show a step-by-step video of how you modeled a character. Share your process and how you solved certain problems. Make a case study out of it. People think you know what you’re doing when you share how you did it. You can do it for every type of work. Not comfortable with videos? Write about it. Keep a blog, a tumbler, a Facebook group. Keep making stuff and sharing them until someone hires you, and then when they do hire you, keep making stuff.

Even if you’re in the business of waiting to get picked, as so many of you will be, try to find a way to pick yourself.

Where should we send the FREE ebook to?