我收到的许多问题是关于如何成为一名动画导演。但与大多数工作不同的是,成为一名导演并没有明确的途径。去电影学院学习并不能保证毕业后能从事导演工作,而且网上也很少有 "导演 "的职位空缺。有些人在21岁时就能做到,有些人花了一生的时间去尝试,却从未做到。

成为一名动画导演也是如此。有的人一开始就是动画师,有的人是故事艺术家(故事板),有的人是从真人表演中过渡过来的,一生中从来没有做过一天的动画。如果你花时间试图找到一些公式,你有可能会感到失望。

那么,如何回答这个问题:如何成为一名动画导演

从动画师开始做起?

像安德鲁·斯坦顿、理查德·威廉姆斯和约翰·拉塞特这样的动画导演在成为导演之前都是动画师,这可能是比较常见的一条路径,因为动画师高度参与了影片的叙事方面。

说实话,这是我一直想象自己追求的路线。

被迪士尼或皮克斯这样的大工作室聘为动画师,然后慢慢往上爬,直到成为导演。不过,我很快就知道,这种方式不适合我。

首先,我没有被任何一家大工作室录取。但就算录取了,我也意识到,我做了这么多年的初级动画师,可能要花上近十年的时间,才能到有人会考虑让我当导演的地方。而即便如此,机会也接近于零。

所以对我来说,作为数百名动画师中的一员工作10年,只是为了可能被注意到的机会,这条路并不安全,也不好玩。

因此,我所做的是创造一个小立方体和一个小球,并制作我自己的电影。然后我做了一个。而且我可能会继续下去。

所以你猜怎么着?我现在是个导演了。没有人正式给我导演执照,我只是制作影片。

关于如何成为导演,这是我能告诉你的唯一确定的一点——开始制作影片。

好吧,所以我需要制作自己的电影,然后呢?

如果你要选择导演的道路,自己制作电影,我建议从短片开始。制作长片是一个可能需要很长时间才能实现的目标,如果你刚开始做动画,这不是一个现实的目标。

至于你的电影应该讲什么,我建议保持超级简单的人物/环境,并专注于一个好故事

当我开始创作《提升》时,故事本身来自于我没有良好的建模技巧的限制。这就是为什么影片是关于一个立方体和一个球。如果你想了解更多细节,请阅读我们的制作动画短片的完整指南。它是免费的。

专注于叙事技巧

做一名好导演的技巧,主要是要成为一名好的叙事者,以及理解节奏、构图和表演。这些都是一名好的动画师应该具备的技能,所以如果你是动画出身,可能对你来说会比较容易。

专注于展示你短片中的技巧和有趣的构图和电影制作。这些都是人们在导演身上寻找的东西。不是花哨的渲染或复杂的建模——而是好的叙事手法。

这完全取决于你

记住——没有人可以让你成为导演。这完全取决于你。

拿起相机、铅笔或平板电脑,去拍一部电影。做到30秒长,这并不重要。如果它是好的,人们会看它。如果你一次又一次地做,你会被注意到,并可能得到你想要的导演工作。

Making an Animated Short (FREE ebook)

A free ebook covering the process of making an animated short film from start to finish.

形象

How to Become an Animation Director

Morr Meroz Animation Industry, Career Skills for Artists, Filmmaking

Many of the questions I get are about how to become an animation director. But unlike most jobs, there’s no clear path to becoming a director. Going to film school does not guarantee a directing job after, and there’s rarely a job opening under “Director” online. Some people get there at 21, and some spend their whole life trying and never do.

The same goes for being an animation director. Some start out as animators, some story artists (storyboarding) and some transition from live action, never having animated a day in their life. If you spend you time trying to find some formula, chances are you’ll get disappointed.

How does, then, one answer the question: how to become an animation director?

Start as an animator?

Animation directors like Andrew Stanton, Richard Williams and John Lasseter were animators before they became directors, and it’s probably the more common way to go about it, since animators are very involved in the storytelling aspect of the film.

Honestly, that was the route I always imagined myself pursuing.

Getting hired as an animator at a big studio like Disney or Pixar, and then slowly moving up the ranks until I became a director. I quickly learned, however, that this way was not for me.

First of all, I wasn’t accepted to any big studio. But even if I did, I realized that I will be working as a junior animator for so many years, and it will probably take me almost a decade to get to a place where someone would even consider making me a director. And even then, the chances are close to zero.

So for me, the path of working as one of hundreds other animators for 10 years, just for the chance of maybe being noticed, didn’t seem like a very safe path. Not a very fun one, too.

So instead, what I did was create a little cube and a little ball, and made my own film. And then I made another one. And I’ll probably keep going.

So guess what? I’m a director now. Nobody officially gave me the director’s license, I just made movies.

That’s the only certain thing I can tell you about how to become a director – start making movies.

Ok so I need to make my own films, now what?

If you’re going to chose the director’s path of making your own films, I suggest starting with short films. Making a feature film is a goal that might take a very long time to achieve, and is not a realistic goal for animation if you’re just starting out.

As for what your films should be about, I suggest keeping to super-simple characters/environments, and focusing on a good story.

When I started working on Lift Up, the story itself came from my limitations of not having good modeling skills. That’s why the film is about a cube and a ball. If you wanna read more about it in detail, read our complete guide for making an animated short. It’s free.

Focus on storytelling skills

The skills of being a good director are mostly about being a good storyteller, as well as understanding pacing, composition and acting. These are all skills that a good animator should have as well, so if you’re coming from animation it might be easier for you.

Focus on showing off these skills in your short, showing interesting compositions and cinematography. These are what people are looking for in a director. Not fancy renders or complex modeling – but good storytelling.

It’s all you

Remember – no one can make you a director. It has to come from you.

Grab a camera, pencil or a tablet, and go make a film. Make it 30 seconds long, it doesn’t matter. If it’s good people will watch it. If you do it over and over you will be noticed, and might get that directing job you wanted.
Courses