我们是如何渲染《极致美味》的

Featured image for “How We Rendered Tasteful”

在过去的几周里,我一直在完成 "我 "的渲染和合成工作。 有品位的,如果你在Instagram上关注我,你可能会看到我在这里和那里发布的框架,但让我们更深入地了解我究竟是如何渲染这部电影的。

我用的是什么渲染引擎?我是如何排列我的渲染层和着色器的?我最后是如何使用渲染农场来完成大部分的渲染工作的?下面是所有细节。

渲染引擎

因此,让我们跳到技术层面。正如你可能知道的,像我之前的两部电影一样,我完全是用Maya制作的。在考虑了不同的渲染引擎,包括Maya自己的Mental Ray之后,我们的灯光和渲染人员Andre说服我尝试Redshift,这是一个基于GPU的渲染引擎。

我发现这个引擎吸引人的地方在于,我基本上只需要确保我有一个好的显卡。与高端处理器相比,这可能是一个更便宜的解决方案。 这也意味着我有一个很好的理由让我的电脑在游戏中表现出色,但这只是一个奖励。

我买的是GTX1080,虽然不是最顶级的,但仍然是很不错的显卡。我的渲染效果还不错,每帧需要10到30分钟不等。

描影

我们基本上为影片中的所有物体使用了5种不同的着色器。一个是我们的默认材质,我们把它用在大多数物体上,一个是像默认材质但有一点反射的,一个是反射性更强的,更像塑料的外观,一个是金属的,还有一个是皮肤的次表面散射的。

现在,尽管我们的许多角色并没有真正的皮肤,(而是毛皮、羽毛或鳞片),但我们把皮肤材料用于所有这些目的。我们并不是真的要追求逼真的效果。

有一些对象需要不同的着色器,比如需要某种纹理的对象(主要是指示牌)。为此我只用了默认的材质,上面有一个图像纹理。

然后,我所要做的就是用不同的颜色把这5种材料分配到我们所有的资产上。之后,我们的影片就准备好布光了。

布光

我们使用了一个非常基本的设置,由一个主定向光源组成,根据角色面对的方向旋转从而适应每个镜头。有时候,如果镜头是在比较暗的环境里,比如在餐车内,我们会再加一个光源。

此外,我们有时会关闭卡车上的投射阴影选项,这样光线就会透出来,而不是要处理非常黑暗的内部。

渲染

我通常会把镜头分成一个背景层和一个前景层,偶尔会有一个第三层,用于拍摄离相机很近的物体,需要有自己的层。

我们使用的渲染通道是常见的嫌疑人。漫反射、全局照明、反射、折射、环境遮蔽、深度、运动矢量、法线、位置和次表面散射然后,我们把带有所有通道的EXR文件导入到Nuke进行合成。

至于渲染本身,我一开始自己用新的GTX1080,还不错,但我发现要花的时间太长,浪费了很多时间。

使用渲染农场

这时我想起大约一年前Fox Render Farm找过我,问我是否有兴趣看看他们的服务。那时我还没有这个需要,但现在我只是坐在那里等着做渲染,我想这可能是一个很好的时间来回访他们,第一次测试一下渲染农场的服务。

这些人对我帮助很大,虽然我应该提到他们确实为我提供了一笔不错的渲染积分来测试他们的服务,但他们并没有赞助这篇文章,也没有期待任何回报。如你所知,我们不做赞助。 由于我真的很喜欢这项服务(而且实际上最后还支付了效果图的提醒费用),我想告诉你这个经历。

一开始确实有点吓人。这个软件似乎非常复杂,有很多设置,但我后来了解到,这是因为这个软件几乎可以和所有软件或插件配合使用。

我当时使用的是Maya和Redshift,所以我只好用这些设置设置了一个项目,选择我使用的软件版本。然后,我所要做的就是把我的Maya文件拖到软件里,等待它分析,大约一分钟后开始渲染。渲染后的图像就会显示在我电脑上的一个文件夹里。

这相当神奇。

如果你还被吓到了(我一开始就是这样),Fox渲染农场让你跳到Skype上使用他们的即时聊天服务台,所以我那么做了。他们告诉我一直到渲染开始的所有步骤。

虽然这是一次神奇(快速)的体验,但我应该提到它并不便宜,一个复杂的镜头花了我差不多100美元,所以在使用渲染农场时,一定要考虑到这一点。不过在节省时间方面,我能够在一个小时内完成一次渲染,否则我自己要花2天以上的时间。我选择用它来处理我非常复杂和远景镜头。

我们完成了吗?

我很高兴地说,渲染和合成都完成了,所以我可以说发布日期非常近了。我希望能尽快正式公布。

Making an Animated Short (FREE ebook)

A free ebook covering the process of making an animated short film from start to finish.

形象

How We Rendered Tasteful

Morr Meroz Filmmaking

In the past few weeks I’ve been finishing the rendering and compositing of Tasteful, if you follow me on Instagram you probably saw frames I posted here and there, but let’s go deeper into exactly how I rendered the film.

What render engine did I use? How did I structure my render layers and shaders? What about how I ended up using a render farm for a large portion of the rendering? Here are all the details.

Rendering engine

So let’s jump into the technicals. As you probably know, like my previous 2 films, I made this one entirely in Maya. After considering different rendering engines, including Maya’s own Mental Ray, Andre, our lighting and rendering guy convinced me to try Redshift, which is a GPU-based render engine.

What I found appealing about this engine is that I basically only needed to make sure I have a good graphics card. This could be a cheaper solution compared to a high-end processor. It also meant I had a good reason to make my computer awesome for gaming, but that was just a bonus.

I got a GTX 1080, which is not top-of-the-line by any means, but still a great card. My renderings were not too bad, taking anywhere between 10 to 30 minutes per frame.

Shading

We basically used 5 different shaders for all the objects in the film. One was our default material, which we used for most of the objects, one that is like the default but with a little bit of reflection, one that is much more reflective, for more of a plastic look, one for metals and a subsurface-scattering one for the skin.

Now, even though many of our characters didn’t really have skins, (but rather fur, feathers or scales) we used the skin material for all of those purposes. We weren’t really going for realism.

There were a few objects that needed different shaders, like the objects that needed some kind of texture (mainly the signs). For that I just used the default material with an image texture on it.

Then, all I had to do was take these 5 materials and assign them to all our assets using different colors. After that, our film was ready for lighting.

Lighting

We used a very basic setup, consisting of a main directional light, rotated to fit each shot depending on which way the character was facing. Sometimes we added another light if the shot took place in a dark location, like inside the food trucks.

In addition, we would sometimes turn off the cast shadow option on the trucks so that the light would come through, instead of having to deal with a very dark interior.

Rendering

I would usually split the shot into a background layer and a foreground layer, with an occasional third layer for cases in which an object was very close to the camera and needed its own layer.

The render passes we used were the usual suspects: Diffuse, global illumination, reflection, refraction, ambient occlusion, depth, motion vectors, normals, position, and subsurface scatteringWe then took the EXR file with all the passes and import it into Nuke for compositing.

As for the rendering itself, I started out rendering by myself with my new GTX1080, and it was fine, but I realized it’s gonna take me way too long and waist a lot of time.

Using a render farm

I then remembered I was approached by Fox Render Farm about a year ago, asking me if I’d be interested in checking out their service. I had no need for it back then, but now that I was just sitting around waiting for renders to be done, I thought it might be a good time to check back with them to test out a render farm service for the first time.

These guys were super helpful, and while I should mention they did provide me with a nice amount of rendering credits to test out their service, they did not sponsor this post or expect anything in return. As you know, we do not do sponsorships. Since I really liked the service (and actually ended up paying for the reminder of the renderings) I wanted to tell you about the experience.

It was definitely a bit intimidating at first. The app seemed very complicated, featuring a ton of settings, but I then learned it’s because the program is meant to work with pretty much any software or plugin.

I was using Maya and Redshift so I had so set up a project with those settings, selecting the versions of the programs I was using. Then all I had to do was drag my Maya file into the app, wait for it to analyze it and start rendering about a minute later. The rendered images would then showed up in a folder on my computer.

It was quite magical.

If you’re still intimidated (which I definitely was at first) Fox Render Farm lets you hop on Skype to use their live chat help desk, so I did it. They talked me through all the steps until my rendering started.

While being a magical (and quick) experience, I should mention it’s not cheap, One complicated shot cost me about a $100, so make sure to take this into consideration when considering using a farm. In terms of time savings though, I was able to finish a render in about an hour that would have otherwise taken me over 2 days to do on my own. I chose to use it for the really heavy and long shots I had.

So are we done?

I’m happy to say that the renderings and compositing are both done, so I think it’s safe to say that the release date is very close. I hope to make the official announcement soon.

<