视觉艺术家的最佳在线备份服务

Featured image for “Best Online Backup for Visual Artists”

今天我想讲一讲备份。具体来说,是关于我试过的最好的在线备份服务。但首先,要说几句。

我首先要告诉你,什么曾经是我的备份系统。

这是很好的。我有两个外置硬盘,与我的主电脑相连。每一个都相当大(容量)。我将手动将我的项目备份到任何一个硬盘,最重要的项目将备份到两个硬盘。当我在制作我的第一部短片时,我甚至在学校和我女朋友的电脑上进行备份,以备不时之需。当涉及到我的文件时,我是一个谨慎的人。

如果你只有一个备份,那你就没有备份。如果你有两个备份,那你就有一个备份。

没有万无一失的备份

这句话是我以前的一位老师说的,我现在还记得。我给大家举个例子。几个月前,我的电脑硬盘坏了,在同一天,我的一个外置硬盘也坏了。这几率有多大?但这不仅仅是我。它可能发生在任何人身上,无论你准备得多么充分。

如果它能发生在皮克斯身上......

皮克斯总裁埃德-卡特穆尔在他的新书中讲述了一个可怕的故事:有人不小心删除了《玩具总动员2》的文件,当他们转向他们的备份系统进行恢复时,结果发现该系统有一段时间没有正常工作,文件真的不见了。这需要他们30个人工作一年才能恢复损失,当时可能把公司推到破产。幸运的是,他们的一名员工当时被迫在家里工作,文件在她的公寓里,这样一来,她就挽救了这一切。

但你不能真的依靠这样的运气,不是吗?

在线备份?

在我的事件发生后,我试图找到一个更好的方法来备份我的文件。我想过买更多的硬盘,但那是一个相当昂贵的想法。尤其是我有大量的文件。作为一名三维艺术家,我需要处理大量的渲染和大量的文档。

由于我的文档太多,大多数地方只会提供几百GB的文件,所以从来没有想过要进行在线备份。

然后有一天,当我听我的一个播客时,我听说了一个叫Backblaze的公司,它允许你备份你电脑上的所有文件,以及你所有外部硬盘上的所有文件!这听起来很疯狂,所以我检查了一下。这对我来说听起来很疯狂,所以我查了一下,确实如此。

在我继续之前,我想澄清一下--这不是一篇赞助文章!我告诉你他们的情况是因为我被他们的服务所震撼,我真的认为你应该自己尝试一下。我告诉你他们的情况,是因为我被他们的服务所震撼,我真的认为你们应该自己尝试一下。它是5美元/月,你可以开始2周的免费试用来检查它。

Backblaze的优点是什么?

Backblaze是一家在线备份服务商,它可以连接到你的计算机和外部硬盘,并将所有的文档上传到网上,所以如果发生了什么事情,你可以在任何时间恢复它们。

以下是操作流程概述

注册免费试用后,你会得到一个应用程序来安装,然后你只需选择你要备份的电脑,以及所有连接的外接硬盘。

mac-desktop-settings

然后,你可以选择备份的方法(你可以选择手动,每周一次或连续)。连续"选项真的很酷,因为它在你工作时一直在备份你的电脑,所以你知道你一直在备份。

mac-desktop-schedule

然后在设置好你选择的偏好后,你只需点击"立即备份",让它在后台工作。第一次备份可能需要几天的时间(我花了3周多的时间,因为我有大约8TB的文档需要备份(也就是8000GB))。这就是他们很酷的地方,他们对你备份的数量没有限制。

mac-desktop-controllpanel

所以,如果你和我一样对文档有偏执,或者你只是一个明智的人,不想弄丢所有的作品,请查看一下 Bakcblaze ,并让我知道你的想法!


Making an Animated Short (FREE ebook)

A free ebook covering the process of making an animated short film from start to finish.

形象

best-online-backup-featured

Best Online Backup for Visual Artists

Today I want to talk about backup. Specifically, about the best online backup service I tried. But first, a few words.

I’ll start by telling you about what used to be MY backup system.

It was pretty good. I had 2 external hard drives that were connected to my main computer. Each one was pretty big (in capacity). I would manually back up my projects to either hard drive, and the most important projects would be backed up to both. While I was working on my first short film I even backed it up at school and on my girlfriends computer, just in case. I’m a careful person when it comes to my files.

If you have one backup, you have no backup. If you have two backups, you have one backup.

There’s no fail-proof backup

That quote was by a former teacher of mine, and I still remember it. I’ll give you an example: A few months ago my computer hard drive failed, and at the same day one of my external hard drives failed too. What are the chances of that? But it’s not just me. It could happen to anyone, no matter how prepared you are.

If it could happen to Pixar…

In his new book, Ed Catmull, the president of Pixar, tells a horrifying story of how someone accidentally erased the files of Toy Story 2, and when they turned to their backup system for recovery it turns out that the system was not working properly for a while, and the files were truly gone. That would have taken them 30 people working for a year to recover their loss, and at the time might have pushed the company to bankruptcy. Luckily, one of their employees was forced to work at home at that time and had the files in her apartment, and that way she saved the day.

But you can’t really rely on such luck, can you?

Online Backup?

After my incident I tried finding a better way to backup my files. I thought about getting more hard drives, but that was quite an expensive idea. Especially since I have A LOT of files. As a 3D artist, I work with huge renders and massive files.

The thought of online backup never occurred to me since I had so much files, and most places would offer only a few hundred gigs.

Then one day when I was listening to one of my podcasts I heard of a company called Backblaze which allows you to backup all of your files on your computer plus all the files on all of your external hard drives! That sounded crazy to me, so I checked it out and it was true.

Now before I continue, I want to clarify – this is NOT a sponsored post! I’m telling you about them because I was blown away by how awesome their service is and I really think you should try it yourselves. It’s $5/month and you can start a free trial for 2 weeks to check it out.

What’s great about Backblaze?

Backblaze is an online backup service that connects to your computer and external hard drives and backs up ALL of them online, so if something happens you can recover them at any time.

Here’s a quick overview of the process

After signing up for your free trial you get an app to install, and then you just select the computer you want to backup, and all the connected external hard drives.

mac-desktop-settings

You then select the method of backing up (you can choose manually, once a week or continuous). The ‘continuous’ option is really cool, because it keeps backing up your computer all the time as you work so you know you’re always backed up.

mac-desktop-schedule

Then after setting up the preference of your choice, you simply click on ‘backup now’ and let it work in the background. The first backup might take a few days (mine took over 3 weeks since I had about 8 terabytes to backup (that’s 8,000 gigs for those who don’t know). That is the cool thing about them, they don’t have a limit on how much you back up.

mac-desktop-controlpanel

So if you’re as paranoid as I am about your files, or if you’re just a sensible person who doesn’t want to lose all of their work, check out Bakcblaze and let me know what you think!


Where should we send the FREE ebook to?

DOWNLOAD NOW